August 6, 2020

Via e-mail to etarbert@floridabar.org

Task Force on Distribution of IOTA Funds c/o Elizabeth Tarbert, Ethics Counsel The Florida Bar 651East Jefferson Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-2300

> Re: Task Force on Distribution of IOTA Funds- June 12, 2020 Subcommittee Report

Dear Task Force Members:

We write as members of The Florida Bar who also are Past Presidents of The Florida Bar. We endorse the July 14, 2020 letter submitted to the Task Force by the Past Presidents of the Florida Bar Foundation.

We remain committed to ensuring that the mission of the Florida Bar Foundation, as established by the Florida Supreme Court, is carried out and that low-income Floridians facing serious civil legal problems are well served. These are most critical and uncertain economic times. We support all efforts to improve the administration and delivery of IOTA funds in a fashion which best serves low income Floridians.

We have reviewed the joint amendment to Rule 5-1.1(g) submitted by Florida Civil Legal Aid Association and the Florida Bar Foundation on July 10, 2020 as revised on July 22, 2020 as well as the rule proposed by the Task Force. Should the Court determine a change needs to be made we support the joint proposal submitted by the Florida Civil Legal Aid Association and the Florida Bar Foundation. The joint rule amendment gives the Supreme Court direct control, and by keeping the Foundation as a single administrator, ensures the Foundation can function in a practical and efficient way to disburse funds and will maximize collection of IOTA funds. All of this is to ensure that the poor do not have disruptions in access to legal help. This is a rule that the legal service providers believe would best assist them in providing much needed legal services.

Respectfully Submitted,

Francisco R. Angones President 2007 – 2008

Edward R. Blumberg President 1997 – 1998

Howard C. Coker President 1998 – 1999 Tod Aronovitz President 2002 – 2003

Alan B. Bookman President 2005 – 2006

Henry M. Coxe, III President 2006 – 2007 John A. DeVault, III President 1995 – 1996

Jesse H. Diner President 2009 – 2010

Ray Ferrero, Jr. President 1987 – 1988

Leonard H. Gilbert President 1980 – 1981

Michael J. Higer President 2017 – 2018

Kelly Overstreet Johnson President 2004 – 2005

Miles A. McGrane, III President 2003 – 2004

Edith G. Osman President 1999 – 2000

Joseph J. Reiter President 1986 – 1987

Terrence J. Russell President 2001 – 2002

William J. Schifino, Jr. President 2016 – 2017

Michelle R. Suskauer President 2018 – 2019

Gwynne Alice Young President 2012 – 2013 Alan T. Dimond President 1992 – 1993

Patrick G. Emmanuel President 1985 – 1986

John W. Frost, II President 1996 – 1997

Scott G. Hawkins President 2011 – 2012

Benjamin H. Hill, III President 1991 – 1992

Rutledge R. Liles President 1988 – 1989

James Fox Miller President 1990 – 1991

Eugene K. Pettis President 2013 – 2014

Gerald F. Richman President 1984 – 1985

Herman J. Russomanno President 2000 – 2001

Patricia A. Seitz President 1993 – 1994

Burton Young

President 1970 - 1971

Stephen N. Zack President 1989 – 1990

CC: Dori Foster-Morales, President The Florida Bar Michael Tanner, President Elect, The Florida Bar John Stewart, Past President, The Florida Bar Joshua Doyle, Executive Director, The Florida Bar Mayanne Downs, Chair Task Force, Past President The Florida Bar Dominic Mackenzie, Executive Director, The Florida Bar Foundation Hala Sandridge, President, The Florida Bar Foundation Elizabeth Tarbert, Ethics Counsel, The Florida Bar